Skip to main content

Australian Dietary Guidelines and the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating

SA Health July19 Stills Print 110

The five food groups

The Australian Dietary Guidelines (ADGs) group healthy foods into five food groups while the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating (AGHE) is a visual food selection guide. Each segment of the circle shows the proportion of each food group to eat in order to have a balanced diet every day. If you eat a variety of food from the five food groups, in the recommended amounts, you are likely to get all the nutrients you need.

The five food groups are:

  • vegetables and legumes/beans
  • fruit
  • grain (cereal) foods
  • milk, yoghurt, cheese and alternatives
  • lean meats and poultry, fish, eggs, tofu, nuts and seeds and legumes/beans.

Foods in the five food groups should make up the majority of your diet.

Water and unsaturated fats, oils and spreads are not included within the five food groups. The AGHE encourages Australians to choose water as the main drink and include small amounts of unsaturated fats, oils and their spreads each day.

Find out more about five food groups and what a serve of each food group looks like, and how many serves to aim for each day.

Sometimes foods and drinks

The AGHE recommends limiting discretionary (or ‘sometimes’) foods and drinks. Sometimes foods and drinks do not fit into the five food groups. They are high in kilojoules, saturated fat, added sugars, salt and/or alcohol and are not an essential part of a healthy diet. If you choose to include sometimes foods and drinks, enjoy them sometimes and in small amounts.

Find out more about sometimes foods and drinks.

Was this page useful to you?